It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

And no, it’s not just because it just so happens to be the month that my birthday falls into, as most of you know that I tend to try to avoid or skip my birthday in the ongoing quest to beat the sands of time as they march across my face. No, October has always been one of my favorite times because the seasons have <finally> changed to be somewhat predictable, the leaves are legit turning, and I get to hear allllll about how f-ing wonderful pumpkin spice is.

111

If it’s so great, why not eat/drink/smell it all the time?!

The other main reason I love October is because it’s the quintessential horror movie time of year. And after an old buddy gave me a run for my money on the FB with an inadvertent trivia question about the Halloween franchise (yes, I have seen all of them, yes, even Halloween III which didn’t even have Michael in it), I have been happily reminded that this is the month that I do my best to scare the ever-living bejesus out of myself while clutching couch pillows and yelling at my television.

1shot_silenthouse

Nonononono. Don’t. Don’t…. GET OUT OF THE HOUSE!

So I am not going to lie, I am looking forward to this month. My big sister will be five years older than I am for about 36 hours; my parents are coming into town to visit; and I have a bunch of big projects to work on that I am actually not dreading. Between that and <maybe> finally painting the wall in the living room, it ought to be a good transition into the fall. Which is the best season, even if it does only last like three weeks in Utah before it starts snowing.

8521333

This is my gayborhood. In November.

So do yourselves a favor. Find a good old slasher flick, pop up some popcorn, and snuggle up on the couch, either solo with a warm blanket or with the lady/gent of your choice and get ready to scream a bit. The weather is getting on the chilly side; continue that chill down your spine. A healthy dose of fear on your own terms will do you a world of good.

free_candy

How could you not trust this?

Until next time, stay classy (and frightened, just a bit) Salt Lake.

Leave a Reply

